2012 Section Award Winners




Nathan Charnes
Professional of the Year

Brett Moomey

Assistant Professional of the Year

Mike Govern

Soft Goods Representative
of the Year



Chris Hahn

Hard Goods Representative
of the Year


Paul Leahy
Bill Strausbaugh


Todd Meyer
Junior Golf Leader



Mark Christensen

Teacher of the Year


Ben Kent

Horton Smith




Mike Suhre & Kevin Corn



Jim Knoesel

Public Merchandiser
of the Year


Paul Leahy

Resort Merchandiser
of the Year


Ryan Johnson

Private Merchandiser
of the Year



2012 Playing Achievement Awards    

Bob Gaus

Player of the Year

Shane Blankenship

Assistant Player
of the Year





JC Anderson

Senior Player of the Year

Steve Heckel

Super Senior Player
of the Year


Barbara Blanchar

Ladies Player of the Year




2012 Gateway PGA Awards Dinner Photos - Click HERE


Bill Strausbaugh Award

The Bill Strausbaugh Award is designed to recognize PGA Professionals who by their day-to-day efforts have distinguished themselves by mentoring their fellow PGA Professionals in improving their employment situations and through service to the community.
Bill Strausbaugh Award Guidelines:

  • Demonstration of record of service to the Section and the Association.

  • Proven leadership ability.

  • Involvement in civic activities and local charitable causes within the community.

  • Recognized as someone of outstanding character.

Bill Strausbaugh Award Criteria:

1.    Criteria to Measure
       a.    Level of service to the Section and Association.

       b.    Leadership ability.

       c.    Contributions to building and growing the image of the game of golf, the PGA Professional and the Association.

       d.    Involvement and contribution toward improving the skills of other PGA Professionals.

       e.    Involvement in civic activities within the community.

       f.     Involvement with local charitable causes

       g.    Overall integrity and recognition as a person of outstanding character.

2.    Selection Process
       a.    Nomination should be based on a candidate’s entire past experience and commitment for continuing one’s contributions and assistance.

       b.    Achievements during the past five years should be emphasized.

       c.    Awards Committee will select a recipient based on the criteria.
3.    Ineligible Categories

       a.    Last Year’s Bill Strausbaugh Award winner – Richard Poe

       b.    Current members of the PGA Board of Directors

       c.    Class “F” and “Inactive” members

       d.    Apprentices

       e.    PGA National Headquarters staff and PGA Section staff


Other Considerations

⇔ Award will be presented at the Gateway PGA Awards Ceremony held in October