2014 Section Award Winners

Committee and Voting Awards
Joe Dodich PGA Professional of the Year

Jeffrey Field, PGA
Fox Run Golf Club


PGA Assistant Professional of the Year

Nic Bunning, PGA
Greenbriar Hills Country

George Schrage, PGA
Quincy Country Club

PGA Teacher of the Year

Dennis Biedenstein, PGA
Fox Run Golf Club
PGA Bill Strausbaugh Award

Brian Maine, PGA
Whitmoor Country Club
PGA Horton Smith Award

Dennis Biedenstein, PGA
Fox Run Golf Club
PGA Junior Golf Leader

Nic Bunning, PGA
Greenbriar Hills Country Club
Herb Graffis

Gideon Smith, PGA
Quincy Country Club
PGA Resort Merchandiser of the Year

Terry Schwab, PGA
Quail Creek Country Club
 PGA Public Merchandiser of the Year

Kevin Schaeffer, PGA
Annbriar Golf Club
 PGA Private Merchandiser of the Year

Jeff Escott, PGA
Persimmon Woods Golf Club
Hard Goods Sales Rep of the Year

Jim Mason
Bridgestone Golf
Soft Goods Sales Rep of the Year

John Sheridan
Under Armour

Playing Awards
PGA Player of the Year

Mike Suhre, PGA
Oak Brook Golf Club

PGA  Senior Player of the Year

Bob Gaus, PGA
Tower Tee Golf Center

PGA Assistant Player of the Year

Adam Betz
Meadowbrook Country Club
PGA Women's Player of the Year

Barbara Blanchar, PGA
WingHaven Country Club
Super Senior Player of the Year

Mike Brengard, PGA



Gateway PGA Junior Awards

9 Hole Girls Champion
Brooke Biermann
9 Hole Boys Champion
Sam Bricker
18 Hole Girls Champion
Michelle Campbell
18 Hole Boys Champion
Colin Stolze
Tour Girls Champion
Jordan Wolf
Tour Boys Champion
Alex Ciaramitaro
Low Stroke Average Girls
 Abby Schroeder
Low Stroke Average Boys
Blake Porter



Horton Smith Award

The PGA Horton Smith Award recognizes the PGA Professional who is the model educator of PGA Golf Professionals.  This award is designed to give special recognition to an individual Gateway PGA Professional for outstanding and continuing contributions to professional education.
Horton Smith Award Guidelines:

  • Demonstration of outstanding qualities of leadership.

  • Demonstration of strong moral character.

  • Maintain a substantial record of service to the Association and the game of golf.

  • Well-regarded as a model educator of PGA Golf Professionals.

Horton Smith Award Criteria:
1.    Criteria to Measure 

       a.     Contributions to Section & National PGA education programs. 

       b.    Contributions and development of articulates related to and benefiting education. 

       c.     Contributions to building the image of both the PGA Golf Professional and the Association.
Selection Process
       a.   Nomination should be based on a candidate’s entire past experience and commitment for continuing one’s contributions and assistance.
          b.   Achievements during the past five years should be emphasized.
       c.    Awards Committee will select a recipient based on the criteria. 

3.    Ineligible Categories
       a.     Last Year’s Horton Smith Award Winner – Nathan Charnes
       b.   Current members of the Gateway PGA Board of Directors
       c.    Class “F” and “Inactive” members 
       d.   Apprentices

       e.   PGA National Headquarters staff and PGA Section staff
Other Considerations
⇔ Award will be presented at the Gateway PGA Awards Ceremony, held in October.